Welcome to
Missouri Driver Safety Education Association
News & Awards
MODSEA OfficersMembersMODSEA ConferenceMembershipCertification
ADTSEAResourcesMO Core Comp & StandardsNews & AwardsDETSA
First ImpactSponsorsConstitution/By Laws
Home Page
News & Awards

Allyn Workman Receives National TEA Award

Congratulations to the 2017 TEA Award Winners.

The Teacher of Excellence Award attracted 4 excellent candidates who met or exceeded the expectations of this award.  The following teachers will be recognized at this year’s conference during the TEA Luncheon and be given the opportunity to provide a few remarks when they are called forward to receive their award. The teachers are Allyn Workman (Missouri), Jonathon Dondoneau (North Dakota), Larry Fairclo (Oregon) and Cynthia Bagley (Hawaii).  Each submitted portfolios of evidence to demonstrate their qualifications for becoming a TEA recipient for this year’s conference.  After reviewing each portfolio, it was determined that all should be awarded the TEA for the 2017. 

The TEA committee would like to take this opportunity to thank the National Road Safety Foundation for their continued support of this excellent award.  Each awardee received from the National Road Safety Foundation a monetary stipend, their conference registration waived, a name badge indicating their selection as a Teacher of Excellence award winner, and a plaque with their name and recognition as an ADTSEA Teacher of Excellence Award recipient.

TEA Award winners

In picture from left to right: Michelle Anderson, NRSF, Jonathon Dondoneau (North Dakota), Allyn Workman (Missouri), Rich Hanson, TEA Coordinator, Larry Fairclo (Oregon), David Reich, Reich Communications and Cynthia Bagley (Hawaii).

Missouri is Well Represented at the National ADTSEA Level

Rob Droege (Lindbergh High School) presented at the national American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (ADTSEA) national conference held in Chicago, July 22 – 25, 2018. 

His presentation, “Using Technology to Engage the Driver Education Classroom”, was well received by those in attendance.




Allyn Workman has been selected to serve the American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (ADTSEA) as the South Central Regional Representative (Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Texas)
and as the Division Chair for the Secondary Division program for the national ADTSEA Conference. 
Workman, along with Janice Rehak (Department of Elementary and Secondary Education) also represented Missouri at the Association of National Stakeholders in Traffic Safety Education (ANSTSE) conference July 20 – 21, 2018 in Chicago, IL.


L to R: President-Elect Bill Van Tassel (FL), President Wendy            

Bills (UT), and Division Chairs of Research: Harold Fleming                

(NC); Higher Ed: Robin Bordner (MI); Secondary Division:

Allyn Workman (MO); and Supervision and Administration:

Bill Warner (OR).


ANSTSE Conference attendees in Chicago, IL
July 20-21, 2018
Jim Butler Pledge to be a Safe Driver
Liberty High School

click on link above

Kerrie Warne, Founder of TyREDD (Tyler Raising Education/Awareness for Drowsy Driving)
Receives MoDOT’s Arrive Alive Award

click here

MODSEA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Missouri Teen Driving Review SWOT Analysis & Recommendations
click here

  Plan now to attend the MODSEA Annual State Conference

MODSEA 2019 Conference

MODSEA 63rd Annual State Conference
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Monsanto Headquarters
800 N. Lindbergh Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63167
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM


63rd ADTSEA National Conference
July 21 - 24, 2019
DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Vermont
870 Williston Road
Burlington, VT 05403



Carol Hoormann Receives National Recognition

Carol Hoormann was one of three driver education instructors from across the United States recognized with the Teacher Excellence Award (TEA) on July 15, 2014 at the national American Driver Traffic Safety Education Association (ADTSEA) conference held in Wichita, KS.


The Teacher Excellence Awards are presented annually by the National Road Safety Foundation (NRSF).  Award recipients are selected by their peers for outstanding teaching and service to driver

and traffic safety education.  Hoormann is the first

instructor from Missouri to win the award.  She presented a session at the national conference entitled “Driver Education and Reaching Outside the Classroom.”


Hoormann has been teaching driver education at Lindbergh High School for the past 16 years where she provides instruction in the classroom as well as behind-the-wheel.  She also teaches driver education through her District’s Community Education program.  Carol has been the executive director of the Missouri Driver and Safety Education Association (MODSEA) since 2006 and served as the co-chair of the national ADTSEA conference that was held in St. Louis in 2010.  Hoormann was recognized as the MODSEA Teacher of the Year in 2013


Hoormann is active in the driver education community as she works to improve driver safety.  She serves on committees for the Missouri Department of Transportation which works to reduce highway fatalities and increase traffic safety education in the St. Louis area and on the safety and education committee for Monsanto.  Carol sponsors the Teen Safe Driving organization at Lindbergh High School.


Hoormann is married to Kevin and they have two children.  In her spare time she likes to bowl and golf.

David Reich of NRSF presenting the TEA award to Carol Hoormann.

2014 Teacher Excellence Award presenters and recipients:
David Reich of NRSF, Bea Kehr (MN), John Viau (VT), Carol Hoormann (MO), and Rich Hanson ADTSEA TEA Co-Chair.


MODSEA Executive Board Member Honored by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics
News Photo